Uncategorized

Initial thoughts about “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them”

When Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 came out in theaters, I was fully anticipating that there would be no more new Harry Potter stories. Then Harry Potter and the Cursed Child came out, and now, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. The inner Harry Potter nerd in me is gleefully, almost embarrassingly happy (just ask anyone who went to the movies with me to see the new film). While new stories in the Potter universe definitely excite me, I do my best to have realistic expectations. The last thing I want to do is set my expectations way too high and be disappointed. Nothing, in my opinion, will ever be quite the same as the original 7 books (and 8 movies), even if it is written by J.K Rowling herself. Regardless, here are some random thoughts of mine after watching Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them:

  • J.K Rowling can write screen plays just about as well as she can write books. Whether or not you liked the movie, you can’t say that she isn’t talented at what she does.
  • There was enough of a balance (in my personal opinion) between it “feeling” like a Harry Potter movie and it “feeling” like it’s own thing. It was similar, and even though it can’t exactly stand alone, it wasn’t trying too hard to be like the original Harry Potter movies, and that’s definitely a good thing.
  • SO MANY REFERENCES. I just about cried of happiness.
  • There was a lot of CGI. Like, a lot, and although it wasn’t bad CGI by any means, it was definitely obvious. But considering the nature of the movie (and not to mention the plot itself), it was definitely necessary, and therefore, forgivable. I just would have been okay with it being *just a smidge* more realistic (to quote Mr. Scamander himself).
  • I loved Eddie Redmayne as Newt. Dare I say he was… fantastic (bad pun intended). Him and Hagrid would have also made great friends. 
  • Jacob Kowalski is the best character in the whole movie. Definitely comic relief. Definitely hilarious. Definitely laughed out loud. This movie had more humor than i anticipated, and it mostly centers around this character. And i’m okay with that.
  • J.K Rowling is definitely setting the groundwork for a bigger story here. Perhaps the famous duel between Dumbledore and Grindelwald mentioned in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows? At least, thats what makes the most sense to me. Either way, there will be a lot more Fantastic Beasts movies, although i’m curious to see where she takes the other 4 movies. To be quite honest, the amount of sequels seems a little excessive to me, but the scripts are definitely in good hands.
  • Overall, if you are expecting this to be exactly like Harry Potter, you may or may not be setting yourself up for disappointment. If you give yourself realistic expectations, and look at it as another glimpse into Rowling’s wizarding world (without comparing it to Harry Potter), you’ll enjoy it that much more. I can honestly say i thoroughly enjoyed myself while watching the movie, and would happily see it again.
Leave a Reply

